Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 10, 2019, 09:29:46 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
189887 Posts in 10981 Topics by 18427 Members
Latest Member: gedgmaleek
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Off Topic
| |-+  Other Games
| | |-+  RTS games
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Poll
Question: What are u looking for in a RTS?
3d, roteable camera, zoom
decent graphics (units are easily recognised, effects and abilities too, doesnt hurt your eyes when u play)
Commanding huge armies (Rome: total war)
Commanding small groups of carefully selected units (like warcraft 3)
Commanding huge numbers of individual units (TA)
Slow gameplay (usually for sp, lotsa ages and stuff to research)
Fast gameplay (usually for mp, matches of 20-30 min and stuff)
Lotsa micromanagement
No micromanagement
Historically correct, as much as possible
Unique units and tech, found in no other game
Fun (chickens, torturing enemies, throwing ppl around, torching houses, burning ppl running around,stuff like that)
Superpowers, superweapons, godly spells
No superpowers, no superweapons, no godly spells.
A nice score table with timeline at the end (like AoE)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: RTS games  (Read 11564 times)
born_to_be_noobish
Smile clan superadmin
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 587


Found joy in getting owned


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2006, 02:56:55 pm »

DKII has to be original, cause it was the original cd that blew itself up. I need to find a closed box in perfect condition. Or something as close as possible to that.

DKII i have, but doesnt run well on xp.
Logged

Drake3
Newbie
*
Posts: 14



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2006, 08:34:31 pm »

Finding one in the classic box will be hard. I used froogle and only found ones that have been reproduced recently. So their box is slightly different. It says "Sold Out Software" on it. Still new though...

Here is an example:
http://www.nulime.com/Dungeon-Keeper-2-Adventure-Roleplaying-Windows-Games-p24227-c649.html

If you go to froogle and search for dungeon keeper 2 you will find many others similar to it. To find an actual original in near perfect condition, you may need to search on eBay or something. Good luck if that is the case.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2006, 08:36:13 pm by Drake3 » Logged
born_to_be_noobish
Smile clan superadmin
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 587


Found joy in getting owned


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: August 09, 2006, 08:27:00 pm »

I dont thrust ebay.
And yes, finding a perfect condition box is hard. i know.
Also, i dont thrust paying online stuff, so cant buy online and no shop nearby has it.

My only hope for DKII is that they make a DKIII and then sell a full pack orso (DK I, II, III) orso in the shop. Like u can buy a box with the entire C&C series. It's like waiting for christmas to fall on easter.
Logged

Drake3
Newbie
*
Posts: 14



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: August 09, 2006, 10:06:56 pm »

Hehe... I see. Good luck then. For what it's worth, I hope they make Dungeon Keeper III also.  Grin
Logged
born_to_be_noobish
Smile clan superadmin
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 587


Found joy in getting owned


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: August 14, 2006, 08:00:02 pm »

As for having to click a lot, you probably know you can hold shift to build 5 per click right? Did you know you could hold shift and ctrl to build 100 per click? It makes things much easier. You still have to click a lot if you have many factories...  Evil

that doesnt work, shift+ctrl for 100. Also, i cant raise the number of ai players. something that allso requires ctrl + shift. Problably my pc.
Logged

Drake3
Newbie
*
Posts: 14



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: August 15, 2006, 12:25:46 am »

The shift+ctrl for 100 could be due to the TA Demo Recorder I applied to my version. I just learned about it recently, probably because it was just added recently... hehe. The recorder includes many cool features and I wouldn't be surprised if that was one of them. I got it so that my brother and I could face more than one AI player each in multiplayer. It also is supposed to allow you to record and replay battles, but I haven't tried that function yet. If you want to check it out, here are some links:

Download for latest TA Recorder 0.99b3 build 543r2:
http://www.fileuniverse.com/?p=showitem&ID=3044

Download for inital TA Recorder 0.99b2: (required for latest Recorder)
http://www.fileuniverse.com/?p=showitem&ID=198

Some info on the latest TA Recorder and how to install:
http://www.tauniverse.com/forum/showthread.php?t=33931&highlight=multiplayer

Finally, a comprehensive F.A.Q. on 3rd party mods and utilities for TA:
http://www.tauniverse.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=27309

Oh, to raise the number of AI players in skirmish was a little strange. You have to press "*" and then input the roman numerals of the number of players you wish from 2 to 10. (i.e. For ten players type *X at the skirmish setup screen)
Logged
born_to_be_noobish
Smile clan superadmin
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 587


Found joy in getting owned


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: August 15, 2006, 09:14:05 am »

Interesting site.

installing demo thingie now.
the raise number of AI, i have encountered about 3 different ways to do it, (none works) but this site is the first site taht gives some feedback on what i might be doing wrong.
Logged

Drake3
Newbie
*
Posts: 14



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: August 15, 2006, 06:23:05 pm »

Glad I could help, to a certain extent anyways.  Smiley
Logged
Shamoke
Lord Of The Frogs
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 334

Left Tanks in a wood box


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: August 22, 2006, 01:37:33 pm »

Someone has tried the Paraworld Demo ?

I dl'ed it and made a few skirmish games against the AI... Which is truely stupid, even at the most difficult level.
In general, the game has a good looking, but the game mechanics are way too basics. Very classic&similar to The AOE series; nothing new, all old under a new shape.

I'm a bit disappointed... Could have done a lot better with dinosaurs. Rawr.
Logged
born_to_be_noobish
Smile clan superadmin
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 587


Found joy in getting owned


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: August 22, 2006, 08:11:06 pm »

well, it's not released yet according to the first site i found. So maybe they ll improve it a bit, but problably not.
Havent tried it yet, but the idea sounded good.

And well, AOE was pretty good. They could have done worse than that.
Logged

Shamoke
Lord Of The Frogs
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 334

Left Tanks in a wood box


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: August 24, 2006, 05:56:54 am »

Born To Be Noobish, maybe should you try the game first, if you wanna reply something relatively interesting.
Other than that, where did I say that AOE wasn't good ?
Logged
born_to_be_noobish
Smile clan superadmin
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 587


Found joy in getting owned


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: August 24, 2006, 07:05:59 pm »

good point.
I would try it if i could.
ANd u're right, u didnt say AOE was bad. That part came from being frustated by pointless argueing in other topics.

i ll try to shut up more.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2006, 07:11:30 pm by born_to_be_noobish » Logged

MrEvilDr
I hate you, give me one!
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 408

t('-'t) <--- Kirby


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: August 25, 2006, 05:26:12 pm »

Please do.
Logged

born_to_be_noobish
Smile clan superadmin
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 587


Found joy in getting owned


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: August 30, 2006, 08:06:18 am »

On paraworld, it's a good demo. 2 races to choose from and such.
i like the game for it's easy unit overview and the downgrades/upgrades u can do with certain buildings/units. But it also requires alot of thinking and micromanagement, which is not my thingie.  And the CPU owns me if i set it at medium. Skull collecting is nice.
Unit limits are a bit on the low side, so u have to think about which unit to raise to lvl 4 and such. I bet tht allows for several interesting approaches and tactics.
Logged

Shamoke
Lord Of The Frogs
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 334

Left Tanks in a wood box


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: August 30, 2006, 05:16:25 pm »

Yeah, the only good thing is the army controller, even tho you cannot have a huge army. Wouldn't it be cool to have 100 dinosaurs under your orders ? And anyway, the micro management is very basic compared to Warcraft III for example; most units are very basics, except the 'healer' who as some spells (which look ugly).

That's my opinion, it's not a bad game from what I've tested... But nothing as amazing as Warcraft II/III or TA were at their times.

In fact, I've played all the recent RTS such as AOEIII, Rise Of Legends, Empire Earth II, Blitzkrieg II, Strongholds Legends... None of them demonstrated a real potential. I'm still waiting for Supreme Commander or Warhammer Mark Of Chaos which, I hope, will give new sensations for the gamers :p.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.042 seconds with 21 queries.