Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 06, 2019, 12:19:59 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
189884 Posts in 10983 Topics by 18424 Members
Latest Member: ehohdfhdoo
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Archive
| |-+  Server Forum
| | |-+  Which OS is better for hosting savage!!??
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Which OS is better for hosting savage!!??  (Read 2433 times)
ŤЊέ Đąŕĸ Őŋę
ŤЊέ Đąŕĸ Őŋę
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 299



View Profile
« on: September 10, 2007, 10:15:12 am »

I'm gonna be hosting a DS and i wanna know which is better

A Linux Dedicated server for savage
OR
A windows server 2003 server for savage

use a post for opinion
« Last Edit: September 10, 2007, 11:23:37 am by ŤЊέ Đąŕĸ Őŋę » Logged

Glory unto Sol and Sil
With grace to Mother Earth and Father Heaven
Let thy pure step into The Holy Lands
Hethrep
Newbie
*
Posts: 18



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2007, 12:22:18 pm »

The one which steals the least CPU cycles from the server, so, Linux?
Logged
ŤЊέ Đąŕĸ Őŋę
ŤЊέ Đąŕĸ Őŋę
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 299



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2007, 08:33:06 am »

im actually having troubles with my linux to have my server on the serverlist

Some help
Firewall has been prompted to allow
Port forwarded 82342 to 82342 on 124......
still hasnt come up yet
Logged

Glory unto Sol and Sil
With grace to Mother Earth and Father Heaven
Let thy pure step into The Holy Lands
Hethrep
Newbie
*
Posts: 18



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2007, 01:55:29 pm »

Eh, there IS no port 82342...

Also, it might well be that S2 didn't completely fix their masterserver yet, i.e. that they have to restart it to pick up new savageservers. Still, not using a firewall or packetfilter I don't know which ports are exactly required to run savage.

You are planning to run a savage server from home behind a router? Do you have a static IP and a big enough upstream?
Logged
Groentjuh
Newerth Serveradmin, German Mirror and Webdeveloper
Administrator
Super Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1371


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2007, 10:45:34 am »

for a savage server you need 11235 UDP for gamepackets
and 11235 for remote admin and also seems that that has something todo with the serverlist!
Logged


Before adding any of my IMs, ask yourself: Can I ask it in a PM?
Before sending me a PM with questions, Search the forums!
Wanna be ref? Post on my Server Forum
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.025 seconds with 20 queries.