Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 06, 2021, 12:06:47 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
190074 Posts in 11010 Topics by 18590 Members
Latest Member: Dunkeljuice
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Savage XR
| |-+  Support Forum
| | |-+  Savage fps drop
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Savage fps drop  (Read 67680 times)
APirateHat
XR Advertiser
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 404



View Profile
« on: February 12, 2013, 01:27:00 pm »

So I got this problem that seems pretty weird, but it might not be a problem with Savage though, more like my laptop.

So after playing for a while my fps drops from my usual 30-40 to unbearable 13-20 and I'm not sure why. Some matches my fps is fine through the whole match, and some it's dropping after some minutes. I always restarted Savage after this happened and it worked fine again.

But today I also found out that changing my resolution in the options and not restarting, just clicking "OK" makes my fps good again. Even if I just picked the same resolution I already had.

Edit: Nevermind this, after some more testing it seems like it wasn't the case.

So just wondering is there something with my PC? Or is this with Savage?
« Last Edit: February 12, 2013, 01:51:11 pm by APirateHat » Logged

Hakugei
XR Coder
Legendary Member
***
Posts: 3837



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 02:02:34 pm »

First off, some more info about your PC would be nice.
Secondly, is there anything intensive running in the background? (.e.g Steam takes up a lot; weaker PCs may be affected :p)
Thirdly, does this happen with other games?
Logged
APirateHat
XR Advertiser
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 404



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2013, 02:26:42 pm »

Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.vistasp2_gdr.120824-0336)
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-57 (2 CPUs), ~1.9GHz
Memory: 1918MB RAM
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 7000M / nForce 610M

When it happens I've tried to quit everything except Savage but I don't see any improvement then. I believe it's more related to a weak graphics card rather than the CPU though.

And no, I haven't noticed this in any other game.
Logged

Hakugei
XR Coder
Legendary Member
***
Posts: 3837



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2013, 03:18:10 pm »

Well, it is a weak card.
Though I don't exactly know how strong one needs to be for Savage. Grin

You say other games run smoothly or with higher fps?
What kind of games?
Logged
APirateHat
XR Advertiser
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 404



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2013, 04:04:31 pm »

I wouldn't say other games run better but I have never really experienced such drop as in Savage in other games. Haven't really tested though. I'll have to make some more tests  Tongue
Logged

SavageLegacy
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 251


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2013, 04:13:45 pm »

This seems to be happening to a lot of people that i've talked to as well, including me. My fps drops from around 200 to 60, and mouse locks up so that when i try to turn i barely even move :/, everything else works fine, including my mouse if i esc and go to the game menu. Some people told me they fixed the problem by using the command /host_maxfps 999, but that has yet to work for me Sad
Logged
Hakugei
XR Coder
Legendary Member
***
Posts: 3837



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2013, 04:22:37 pm »

XR maps use more props than others.
Some more complex than the standard ones as well.

Do you think this might be the cause?
Logged
APirateHat
XR Advertiser
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 404



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2013, 04:47:53 pm »

This happens on all kinds of maps, latest now where I noticed it on was haze2.
Logged

DieOrFail
Reaper's Best Buddy
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 577



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2013, 06:43:57 pm »

Does the FPS go back up after some time? If yes, could be that here:
http://www.newerth.com/smf/index.php/topic,16171.0.html
Logged
APirateHat
XR Advertiser
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 404



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2013, 09:20:22 pm »

No, haven't noticed it going back. It's like that until I restart Savage, maybe also after map change but not quite sure.
Logged

eXZeth
Full Member
***
Posts: 223



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2013, 09:29:59 pm »

I get that too... with some XR maps with lots of new props..
major fps drop and lags
Logged

Gus
Newbie
*
Posts: 27


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2013, 09:46:06 pm »

me too i posted about this months ago


mine drops from 500+ to 64  and mouse sensitivity craps out
Logged
Gus
Newbie
*
Posts: 27


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2013, 09:47:24 pm »

This seems to be happening to a lot of people that i've talked to as well, including me. My fps drops from around 200 to 60, and mouse locks up so that when i try to turn i barely even move :/, everything else works fine, including my mouse if i esc and go to the game menu. Some people told me they fixed the problem by using the command /host_maxfps 999, but that has yet to work for me Sad

exactly!!! 
Logged
Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4822


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2013, 10:16:58 pm »

Does the FPS go back up after some time? If yes, could be that here:
http://www.newerth.com/smf/index.php/topic,16171.0.html

Logged

BREEEWSKY
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: February 14, 2013, 03:11:03 pm »

yes i've been complaining about this ingame for sometime also. Same story, and it happens on all types of random maps, it also happens on leets usa duels. fps drops to 64 (exactly) and after about 20-30 seconds most times it goes back up, i usually remedy it by spinning my mouse over and over and/or hitting my dpi switch on my mouse, although  i dont really know that, that helps at all. It is really frustrating when it happens in game, hope someone fixes this, never has happened on any other version of savage and ive tried running my sep version only to be kicked  Cry
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.04 seconds with 19 queries.