Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 16, 2018, 04:57:09 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
189307 Posts in 10967 Topics by 18114 Members
Latest Member: ianw5555
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Savage XR
| |-+  Support Forum
| | |-+  Aiming with keyboard?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Aiming with keyboard?  (Read 587 times)
ValrogM
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« on: March 09, 2018, 08:17:44 am »

For ranged weapons, particularly in first-person mode, it'd be much easier to aim with the keyboard.

Right now, we can sort of do that by strafing to aim, but it's not the same, as the unit moves out from behind the hiding place when we do that.

Is there a way to configure the game to aim using the keyboard (without strafing)?
Logged
Nanaa
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 658



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2018, 09:21:16 am »

Don't you have a mouse?

Second best thing would be a gamepad.

Windows has a built-in Ease of access feature to move mouse with numpad arrows. You just have to enable it.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2018, 09:23:20 am by Nanaa » Logged
Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4790


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2018, 01:58:06 pm »

For ranged weapons, particularly in first-person mode, it'd be much easier to aim with the keyboard.

XR is a 3D game, not Doom. You need to aim high or low, it's not enough to turn your character in the general direction of your enemy. Also, there is no auto-aim, so you need to pinpoint your crosshair.

Is there a way to configure the game to aim using the keyboard (without strafing)?
You mean having 2 sets of keys, one for moving your character in the world (forward/backward/left/right) and another one for moving the crosshair up/down/left/right on your screen, gameboy style?
Logged

ValrogM
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2018, 10:04:58 pm »

Windows has a built-in Ease of access feature to move mouse with numpad arrows. You just have to enable it.

Thanks! That might work.

You mean having 2 sets of keys, one for moving your character in the world (forward/backward/left/right) and another one for moving the crosshair up/down/left/right on your screen, gameboy style?

Yes, that's what I meant.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.023 seconds with 19 queries.