Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 26, 2017, 12:05:30 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
188539 Posts in 10878 Topics by 17916 Members
Latest Member: Defwish
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Savage XR
| |-+  Support Forum
| | |-+  Can't seem to upload icons
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can't seem to upload icons  (Read 846 times)
eLeMenT
Former Staff Member
Full Member
*****
Posts: 211


Hummmmmm


View Profile
« on: April 09, 2017, 10:14:12 pm »

Ever since the auth server HDD crash, I've been trying to make a random troll clan but haven't been able to upload an icon/banner. I tried everything from resizing it, renaming it, resaving it, making it tiny, restarting my client, changing the path, doing it on a different server, and whatever else came to my mind. I think there's a problem with uploading icons directly relating to the auth server. Halp!
Logged

Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4716


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2017, 07:14:39 am »

I'm afraid you've given us no actual info that we could use, since a lot of those problems come from the file format or the OS. It's useful to know what type of image are you trying to upload and which software are you using to export it. Also, what is your OS and what is the command you're using for upload, that fails.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 07:16:53 am by Daemon » Logged

eLeMenT
Former Staff Member
Full Member
*****
Posts: 211


Hummmmmm


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2017, 07:48:21 am »

Here's as much information (tried to keep it relevant) as I could think of... I really doubt the issue is on my side though, because others have reported not being able to since that day (I don't think it was patch related either):

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (build 14393), 64-bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.60 GHz
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB ROG STRIX
RAM: GeIL EVO POTENZA 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
Motherboard: ASRock Z170 Pro4S ATX LGA1151

File format: png (haven't tested with jpg as I DO need the transparency)
Dimensions: 32x32
Colors: CMYK
Program Used: Adobe Photoshop CS6
Compression: Smallest/Slow
Interlacing: None

http://imgur.com/a/CJvlV (Original + Modified)

I saved the image as k.png directly on my D: drive.

I used the built in gui (no commands) for clan management and typed in d:/k.png as path to upload icon.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 08:22:04 am by eLeMenT » Logged

Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4716


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2017, 09:45:13 am »

So what happened when you did that? In what way isn't it working? :/ We need to retrace your steps for proper debugging.

0. Did you try it on any other accounts (older, already having an icon)?
1. Does it throw any errors in console? If yes, what is it?
2. If there's no error:
-is the old icon still visible?
-is the old icon removed but not replaced by the new one so there's actually no icon?
-did you try /login again or connecting to another server like MA?
3. Can you try any other formats just to be on the safe side (like JPG - or TGA, which works just like PNG only you need alpha mask).
4. Have you tried uploading the same icon on another computer?
5. Does EVERYONE that you spoke about it with say that uploading doesn't work or just some?
6. Can you try the alternate way of using /clanIcon d:/iconname.png and se what happens?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 09:50:07 am by Daemon » Logged

eLeMenT
Former Staff Member
Full Member
*****
Posts: 211


Hummmmmm


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2017, 12:04:46 pm »

0. I don't have clans to test with
1. {'Info': 'All Clan management operations were successful!\n'}
2. Clan icon isn't visible, it normally is visible in the clan management before it is visible on the server (also visible on other servers first). And yes I already tried on other servers.
3. Tried jpg, didn't work.
4. Don't have one.
5. It doesn't work with anyone.
6. Yes, didn't work, same story, same message in console.

-----------

7. I'm pretty positive the issue is serverside, it only started happening after the auth server went down.  Huh
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 12:34:43 pm by eLeMenT » Logged

Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4716


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2017, 01:06:09 pm »

5. It doesn't work with anyone.

OK, so actually, this is the core of the problem Smiley. Thanks for reporting.
Logged

eLeMenT
Former Staff Member
Full Member
*****
Posts: 211


Hummmmmm


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2017, 01:28:57 pm »

5. It doesn't work with anyone.

OK, so actually, this is the core of the problem Smiley. Thanks for reporting.

The core of the problem has to do with auth servers... Please contact django/mefix (or whoever is responsible for it).
Logged

silent_control
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2017, 06:20:54 pm »

5. It doesn't work with anyone.

OK, so actually, this is the core of the problem Smiley. Thanks for reporting.
I have the same problem. I find myself unable to upload a clan icon.
1. I tried with different paths
2. First I tried with a jpg, but after that I converted it to a png.
3. The png is < 2 KB and has the default Gimp export properties:
- no interlacing
- save background color
- no save gamma
- no save layer offset
- save resolution
- save creation time
- save comment
- save color values for transparent pixels
- compression level: 9

The icon appears in game as an empty space (nothingness) before my name.
Logged
Trigardon
Forum Administrator
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4785


Demonic Monster


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2017, 06:51:49 pm »

5. It doesn't work with anyone.

OK, so actually, this is the core of the problem Smiley. Thanks for reporting.

The core of the problem has to do with auth servers... Please contact django/mefix (or whoever is responsible for it).

Groentjuh and Tirza are in charge of the auth afaik.
Logged

Hakugei
XR Coder
Legendary Member
***
Posts: 3730



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2017, 03:03:23 am »

Groentjuh took a gander at it.
This should be fixed now (worked in my test), please let people know.
Logged
biggeruniverse
Disrespectful Newerth Coder and Occasional Admin
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 929


Savage Days


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2017, 12:46:03 pm »

Groentjuh took a gander at it.
This should be fixed now (worked in my test), please let people know.

Not, "we'll put it in the patch notes of the next patch to fix issues we created." Or, "I'll put something in the MOTD about it." You're just going to make eLe do the foot work?
Logged


https://twitter.com/SavageRebirth
Quote from: Helios
You mean an already 7 yr old game is going to die eventually?  Good call there Nostradumbass
Hakugei
XR Coder
Legendary Member
***
Posts: 3730



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2017, 01:01:12 pm »

Not, "we'll put it in the patch notes of the next patch to fix issues we created." Or, "I'll put something in the MOTD about it." You're just going to make eLe do the foot work?
  • Patchnotes without a patch?
  • No one even reads the patchnotes
  • Word-by-mouth spreads better than written text
  • And before it's "officially" fixed, the people that reported it as broken should see if it works for them

Go troll a different forum or work on SR that you promised us all.
Logged
Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4716


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2017, 02:06:11 pm »

You're just going to make eLe do the foot work?

LOL at the pathetic attempt at making it look like devs put themselves up on a pedestal while players are just lowlife grunts.

Whereas the devs are doin' all the slavin' while the players do the playin'.

But GJ at insulting element's inteligence, by trying to manipulate him into believing there's something wrong with lending a hand with reporting bugs and testing fixes. Will you be giving him the link too?
Logged

eLeMenT
Former Staff Member
Full Member
*****
Posts: 211


Hummmmmm


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2017, 04:03:34 pm »

I want to stay out of this but to be fair, I messaged Groent 2 days ago and it got fixed, whereas I posted this 3 weeks ago  Afro
Logged

Hakugei
XR Coder
Legendary Member
***
Posts: 3730



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2017, 04:38:02 pm »

I want to stay out of this but to be fair, I messaged Groent 2 days ago and it got fixed, whereas I posted this 3 weeks ago  Afro
I messaged Groent yesterday (in the Newerth Skype chat), which prompted him to take a look right then and there, actually.
After some technical mumbo-jumbo, some testing, and some troubleshooting, a solution presented itself.



For the last time, I do not have access to AUTH nor DATABASE, as I've relinquished my own said privileges and access years ago.
I cannot fix this stuff without requesting a promotion that I really do not want. Grin
DJ and Groentjuh don't really check the forum, and don't tend to fix things reported here unless it's deemed urgent.
They need to be contacted directly, which I tend to do eventually once I've finished the tasks on my own list.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.035 seconds with 20 queries.