Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 24, 2018, 11:47:28 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
189105 Posts in 10953 Topics by 18014 Members
Latest Member: Edson Maes
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Savage XR
| |-+  Mapping & Modding Forum
| | |-+  Do models exported with blender work in Savage XR?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Do models exported with blender work in Savage XR?  (Read 1837 times)
Crashday
XR Coder
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 352


soundcloud.com/bernhardfritz


View Profile
« on: August 27, 2016, 10:02:54 pm »

Hey guys!

I saw this video of a guy modelling an axe using a free 3D modelling software called blender. It seemed pretty straight forward and I was thinking about giving it a try myself.

I know there is an import/export plugin for 3DS Max, so maybe it is possible to export 3D objects modelled with blender to a common format, let's say wavefront obj, ask someone who has access to 3DS Max to export it for Savage XR and profit?

Appreciate your help!
« Last Edit: August 27, 2016, 10:05:08 pm by Crashday » Logged

Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4775


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2016, 08:20:52 am »

Yes, exporting this way works, but exporting is merely a "save" button. A very large part of the workflow still has to be done in 3DS Max (rigging to bones, surfs, combining meshes, animating, etc.). You wanna use blender to model? Sure, but you still need Max for everything else.
Logged

Crashday
XR Coder
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 352


soundcloud.com/bernhardfritz


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2016, 12:13:22 pm »

Let's say I make a hatchet for nomad. The animation data is already there. Isn't it possible to copy/paste it?

Also, do models for buildings need any special treatment as well, despite bounding boxes?
Logged

Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4775


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2016, 12:28:17 pm »

I've never worked outside of Autodesk suite (3DS Max, Mudbox or Motion Builder) in relation to Savage and i don't know exactly what carries over or not but most likely animations would not work since bones in Max are, in some regards, a whole different species than the rest of the world. Would need trial and error. Still objects surely are possible to export, after preparation.
Logged

Crashday
XR Coder
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 352


soundcloud.com/bernhardfritz


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2016, 04:56:51 pm »

I mean if you import the newly created hatchet.obj (exported with blender) into 3DS Max and use the bones from the current hatchet (imported with Savage XR 3DS Max plugin) for the newly created hatchet. Would that be possible?
Logged

Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4775


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2016, 05:26:24 pm »

Yeah.
Logged

Crashday
XR Coder
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 352


soundcloud.com/bernhardfritz


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2016, 10:04:41 pm »

Ok thanks Daemon! I'll give it a try sometime soon Smiley
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.015 seconds with 19 queries.