Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 19, 2017, 02:05:43 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
188623 Posts in 10884 Topics by 17943 Members
Latest Member: Yustus123321
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Archive
| |-+  Server Forum
| | |-+  What is allowed in terms of scripts?
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: What is allowed in terms of scripts?  (Read 1026 times)
Bullet
Python enthusiast
Newerth Donator

View Profile
« on: September 02, 2015, 05:19:52 pm »

Hey. I just started learning python at university. So i wondered, since savage got some python features, what kind of scripts is not allowed to make/use?

I know the rules on G & G says "players are not allowed to run scripts & codes as long as they dont directly or indirectly affect server performance". But what kind of scripts does this, and what does not? Secondly, these rules apply to G & G, but do they apply to the rest of the servers, or in general ? (NSL, PuG cup etc., the list goes on)

I've also heard the python scripts, atleast for the server, is disable on G & G, does this make it impossible to make functioning, legal clientside scripts with python?

Would love some information regarding this, since i'd enjoy doing some real practive with python in a real game (i'm still big newbie in terms of coding pythong  Tongue )

jazzking
Melee enthusiast
Newerth Shoutcaster

Duels Duels Duels

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2015, 01:54:06 am »

If you haven't coded at all, python scrips for this game might not be easy because the api is a little wonky. But basically it's ok to write a script that makes your life easier, but it's not ok to write a script that enables you to do things beyond normal human capability.

Bullet
Python enthusiast