Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 11, 2017, 05:08:49 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
188663 Posts in 10888 Topics by 17952 Members
Latest Member: Freans
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Archive
| |-+  Server Forum
| | |-+  Archived (-03.11.14)
| | | |-+  USA Referees
| | | | |-+  Homophobic/Misogynistic Speech
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Homophobic/Misogynistic Speech  (Read 758 times)
cutter
Super Hero Member

Easy as 123

View Profile WWW
« on: March 05, 2011, 12:48:07 am »

Hey JmZ, a player named Psychocola has brought this to attention.

I've had some bad experiences on the Leet US server over the past couple days, mostly due to one player, but I have no demos of them to show, because I did not realize until today that Savage had an "automatically record demos" option.  So instead, for servers that do not already have the following rules, I offer a few suggestions that I (perhaps naively) hope would help prevent these things from happening again.

No homophobic or misogynist remarks.

I got into a heated argument with this player over what he did (and I realize that in itself was a breach of the rules; I would understand if I was muted or kicked for it), and he called my team "fags" and a "bitch woman team", among other insults.  Racism is already a kickable offense, why not homophobia or misogyny?  I realize not everybody shares my politics, and I don't expect anybody to like me, but I would like to play Savage knowing that somebody who insults my sexuality or my gender will be given the same treatment as somebody who insults my race.

I've been thinking about it, and I want to re-ask for a rule specifically against anti-homosexual remarks.

I quote from the rules of newerth.com's forums: