Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 19, 2017, 10:46:57 am

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
188623 Posts in 10884 Topics by 17943 Members
Latest Member: Yustus123321
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Archive
| |-+  Modding Forum
| | |-+  Savage2 recreation with Savage XR code possible?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Savage2 recreation with Savage XR code possible?  (Read 2655 times)
[S2]stony
STONY - S2 Junior Staff / Customer Support Savage2
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile
« on: November 17, 2010, 11:25:47 am »

Hello,

I had a curious dream - where I played Savage2 with Savage1 graphics.
What do you think - how close could such a project get to the original Savage2?
Logged
UnnamedNewbie(20)
Official Newerth.com Troll
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 758

Z0MG INVITE FOR MY! I POOR FAMALY NEED DOTA MONEY


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 11:30:38 am »

Whut?
Logged

Quote from: Trigardon
what am I know? A stupid asshole? Always been.
Quote from: Tjens
very ncie sig
Quote from: a ! M b O T*
//offtopic rly nice sig newbi lol
Quote from: UnSaFe
I intended to make the same sig[/
Daemon
XR Main Developer
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4723


beware, for this is the everbroken...


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2010, 12:05:14 pm »

If  you mean Savage 2 with Savage 1 engine, or Savage 1 with Savage 2 engine, well, we're not that far, about a year's work with a 5 people team Smiley.
Logged

[S2]stony
STONY - S2 Junior Staff / Customer Support Savage2
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2010, 12:15:32 pm »

Yes - I mean Savage2 with Savage1 engine. So - limited techtree and the other differences between Sav1 and Sav2.
You are really already working in that?
Logged
H3027
Newerth PR Manager
Legendary Member
***
Posts: 2573



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2010, 12:35:00 pm »

I agree, it's terrible that S2Games didn't release a fix yet. But this idea would take away the best thing about Savage 2: the graphics and effects. Of course it might run smoother and with less crashes, but it would be sooo much harder to advertise the game.

Check this video to see what people say about Savage 1 graphics.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4MJOs_Zfw0
Logged



First Witch: When shall we three meet again / In thunder, lightning, or in rain?
Second Witch: When the hurlyburly's done, / When the battle's lost and won.
[S2]stony
STONY - S2 Junior Staff / Customer Support Savage2
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2010, 12:54:48 pm »

Last time i played savage XR i was impressed by the graphics.

What i will do is suggest to the savage2 players to come over to savage1 in case we experience another downtime like yesterday.

However - many who left Savage2 out of frustration might find a new home here, if there would be a mod available similar to savage2.

Most of sav2 players dont like sav1 because of the focus on firearms. But that shouldn't be the point of discussion here Smiley
Logged
Hakugei
XR Coder
Legendary Member
***
Posts: 3745



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2010, 03:55:16 pm »

I must admit I don't know Sav2's gameplay as well as I could, but I would imagine from a gameplay's perspective, it should be possible to a certain extent.

If you give me a list of all required features, I'll tell you what is possible.
Logged
UnnamedNewbie(20)
Official Newerth.com Troll
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 758

Z0MG INVITE FOR MY! I POOR FAMALY NEED DOTA MONEY


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2010, 04:12:20 pm »

remove leap, half of the weapons items and the factories. makes it so you cant pick your item/weapon and make commanding boring and useless

bing

savage 2 with savage 1 graphic
« Last Edit: November 17, 2010, 06:23:19 pm by UnnamedNewbie(20) » Logged

Quote from: Trigardon
what am I know? A stupid asshole? Always been.
Quote from: Tjens
very ncie sig
Quote from: a ! M b O T*
//offtopic rly nice sig newbi lol
Quote from: UnSaFe
I intended to make the same sig[/
[S2]stony
STONY - S2 Junior Staff / Customer Support Savage2
Newbie
*
Posts: 21


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2010, 05:33:28 pm »

oh - i see you have trolls as well here Smiley
I will see if i find the time to create th list for you - thanks for all the answers so far.
Logged
Mohican
Order of the Stick
Former XR Dev
Legendary Member
*****
Posts: 2647



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2010, 05:18:08 am »

I am interested to hear from you on this.
There are things that would need hardcoding, like the 2 sprinting speeds and power melee attacks.
Stuff like turrets and ammo can work straight out.
Same with mines, they would work like sav1 buff resources.
All in all, we could do this quite quickly, me reckons. 
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 19 queries.