Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 11, 2017, 04:56:07 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Savage: XR is a new patch for Savage, created by the Newerth.com staff. The XR1.1 Client is out now! Download it now!
188663 Posts in 10888 Topics by 17952 Members
Latest Member: Freans
* Home Forum Wiki Help Search Login Register
+  Newerth Forums
|-+  Savage XR
| |-+  Mapping & Modding Forum
| | |-+  INFO: Savage XR Plugin for 3ds Max 9, 2008, 2010, 2012
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: INFO: Savage XR Plugin for 3ds Max 9, 2008, 2010, 2012  (Read 25556 times)
Mohican
Order of the Stick
Former XR Dev
Legendary Member
*****
Posts: 2647



View Profile
« on: April 09, 2009, 03:57:46 pm »

The Savage XR plugin is available for the following versions of 3DS Max:
- Max 9 (32/64bits)
- Max 2008 (32/64bits)
- Max 2010 (32/64bits)
- Max 2012 (32/64bits)

The plugin features several improvements from previous versions, like the ability to fully import models and their animation clips.

Since 06/2011, the plugin also allows you to append animations one after the other!

Get the Plugin from here: DOWNLOAD SECTION


To get it into 3dsmax:
Place the exporter .dlu file to your stdplugs folder:
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2010\stdplugs

Launch max
Go to your utilities tab and press the Configure Button Sets button (lower right here):


Locate the exporter in the left columnt. Add one more digit to Total buttons so that an empty button apears in the right column.


Drag and drop the exporter to the empty button from the left column list.


Press Ok, now you should have the button present in your utilities tab. Press it.


To get savage files into max:

Go to your savage game folder.
C:\Program Files\Savage XR\game

Locate savage0.s2z and open it with winrar/winzip/whatever, then extract all the contents into some folder. This archive contains all the files the game uses.

Back to max, go the exporter and click Import model button. I reccomend checking the Weld vertexes and Smooth checkboxes unless you want pain.


Note! All the models you import are pretty unusable if you want to do serious changes to them, if you want to attach some objects to the models, use the imported model. If you want to atach a behemoths head to chaplain, you may want to export the whole scene with open collada (NOT autodesk collada) and then import it back again. This will give you more controll over the whole scene.

For example sakes, lets import a scav model and one of his animations.
Navigate to [your extracted savage0.s2z folder]\models\beast\units\scavenger\character.model

You should get this in your viewport:


Now, the reason he is without the texture is max cant read s2g texture files. We converted them to that format long time ago, but the converter is available if you want to mess with the textures. You can download it here.

After you are done converting stuff, and reapplying the texture, you should get a textured scav!


Great! Now may want to import the animation files for him, create a savage movie, or atach a bucket to his head.


How to export stuff.
If your working on buildings/other collidable meshes, check out the surf guide here. If you feel lazy to fix 200 surfs like I find myself sometimes, download a script that will do it for you here.

To export stuff you must remember a few nuances.

Copy textures will copy all the textures you used together with the exported file. The engine will still read tga files, but it will automatically search for s2z files with the same filename. So if you want to finalise your model, convert your Fat_pred.tga to fat_pred.s2g and delere the tga file.

When at the save as screen, you have to manually write the model file name. it will not atach a .model automatically for now, and you cant fix it by renaming the file in your browser. (same goes for .anim files etc)

Full filename damnit!

To get your object to actually apear ingame, you need an .objdef definition file. Its a text file that tells the game about your model.


You can copy any objdef file from other directories, rename it, add your info and your done.

You will now have to repack the archive into a s2z archive the game can read. Instead of doing it with all the files, you can just do it with your files only.

So if say, you have a new wall model, create an exacly similar folder structure as you normally would in a new folder.
Say [A new folder somewhere]\models\beast\units\fat_pred\[fat_pred files].

Now add the whole folder structure into a zip file with no compression. When you open the zip, you should see the model folder, if you see your folder name or anything else, repackage it correctly.

Rename the archive to savage1.s2z and place it into your savage/game folder together with savage0.s2z


The bigger the archive number, the higher priority it has, so if conflicts arise, the later name will overwrite the lesser file.

Hope this helped, ask more questions if you have any.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 04:11:45 pm by Mohican » Logged

Trigardon
Forum Administrator
Legendary Member
****
Posts: 4785


Demonic Monster


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2009, 04:51:42 pm »

EPIC!
Logged

jaguar
Guest
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2009, 09:04:37 pm »

Why is the s2g converter not released?
Logged
$hacaR
"The Mod Machine"
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 586


Warr!or 4 EVER


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2009, 10:03:06 pm »

Why is the s2g converter not released?
dunno but perhaps its against misthacks...
Logged

Mohican
Order of the Stick
Former XR Dev
Legendary Member
*****
Posts: 2647



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2009, 10:28:47 pm »

Why is the s2g converter not released?
dunno but perhaps its against misthacks...

There it is: http://www.newerth.com/smf/index.php/topic,7143.0.html
Logged

jaguar
Guest
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2009, 10:30:19 pm »

Why is the s2g converter not released?
dunno but perhaps its against misthacks...
If someone wants to change a texture they can, s2g won't stop that.
Logged
$hacaR
"The Mod Machine"
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 586


Warr!or 4 EVER


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2009, 12:36:16 am »

Why is the s2g converter not released?
dunno but perhaps its against misthacks...
If someone wants to change a texture they can, s2g won't stop that.
yeah but to make a tga file working you have to delete the original s2g file
in the savage0.s2z and replace it with the new tga texture.
you cant make a new folder in the winrar thing and put the tga there.. wont work,
i tried it with my mod before i had the s2g converter =(
s2g > tga,png,jpg...
Logged

jaguar
Guest
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2009, 02:43:04 am »

Putting a tga in the s2z should work fine...

You can also disable the archiving and then to do these hacks (they aren't hacks, they are shitty little exploits) all you do is replace a file. If someone wanted to 'hack' like this they would, this app won't change that.
Logged
daendil
Full Member
***
Posts: 113


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2009, 10:47:50 am »

Wow! Afro If only I had a little more free time...
Logged
Chiprel
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 539



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2009, 01:07:38 pm »

Shacar you could put tga file in different directory(but u need to edit some effect files) or just overwrite s2g file.(delete s2g file and put tga file there) Tongue
Logged

$hacaR
"The Mod Machine"
Newerth Donator
Hero Member
****
Posts: 586


Warr!or 4 EVER


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2009, 12:58:33 am »

Shacar you could put tga file in different directory(but u need to edit some effect files) or just overwrite s2g file.(delete s2g file and put tga file there) Tongue
ye i know but im too lazy for that Tongue
Logged

Mefix
Guest
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2010, 12:52:58 pm »

3dsmax 2010 exporters, thanks to buni and null:
3ds Max 2010 x32
3ds Max 2010 x64
Logged
Shadic1910
Snaker Gear Solid
Newbie
*
Posts: 12



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2010, 09:22:39 pm »

some help here:
first how to put plugins in 2ds max 2010
and second how to import models and export?
Logged
Mefix
Guest
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2010, 10:09:50 am »

To get it into 3dsmax:
Place the exporter .dlu file to your stdplugs folder:
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2010\stdplugs

Launch max
Go to your utilities tab and press the Configure Button Sets button (lower right here):


Locate the exporter in the left columnt. Add one more digit to Total buttons so that an empty button apears in the right column.


Drag and drop the exporter to the empty button from the left column list.


Press Ok, now you should have the button present in your utilities tab. Press it.


To get savage files into max:

Go to your savage game folder.
C:\Program Files\Savage XR\game

Locate savage0.s2z and open it with winrar/winzip/whatever, then extract all the contents into some folder. This archive contains all the files the game uses.

Back to max, go the exporter and click Import model button. I reccomend checking the Weld vertexes and Smooth checkboxes unless you want pain.


Note! All the models you import are pretty unusable if you want to do serious changes to them, if you want to attach some objects to the models, use the imported model. If you want to atach a behemoths head to chaplain, you may want to export the whole scene with open collada (NOT autodesk collada) and then import it back again. This will give you more controll over the whole scene.

For example sakes, lets import a scav model and one of his animations.
Navigate to [your extracted savage0.s2z folder]\models\beast\units\scavenger\character.model

You should get this in your viewport:


Now, the reason he is without the texture is max cant read s2g texture files. We converted them to that format long time ago, but the converter is available if you want to mess with the textures. You can download it here.

After you are done converting stuff, and reapplying the texture, you should get a textured scav!


Great! Now may want to import the animation files for him, create a savage movie, or atach a bucket to his head.


How to export stuff.
If your working on buildings/other collidable meshes, check out the surf guide here. If you feel lazy to fix 200 surfs like I find myself sometimes, download a script that will do it for you here.

To export stuff you must remember a few nuances.

Copy textures will copy all the textures you used together with the exported file. The engine will still read tga files, but it will automatically search for s2z files with the same filename. So if you want to finalise your model, convert your Fat_pred.tga to fat_pred.s2g and delere the tga file.

When at the save as screen, you have to manually write the model file name. it will not atach a .model automatically for now, and you cant fix it by renaming the file in your browser. (same goes for .anim files etc)

Full filename damnit!

To get your object to actually apear ingame, you need an .objdef definition file. Its a text file that tells the game about your model.


You can copy any objdef file from other directories, rename it, add your info and your done.

You will now have to repack the archive into a s2z archive the game can read. Instead of doing it with all the files, you can just do it with your files only.

So if say, you have a new wall model, create an exacly similar folder structure as you normally would in a new folder.
Say [A new folder somewhere]\models\beast\units\fat_pred\[fat_pred files].

Now add the whole folder structure into a zip file with no compression. When you open the zip, you should see the model folder, if you see your folder name or anything else, repackage it correctly.

Rename the archive to savage1.s2z and place it into your savage/game folder together with savage0.s2z


The bigger the archive number, the higher priority it has, so if conflicts arise, the later name will overwrite the lesser file.

Hope this helped, ask more questions if you have any.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2010, 10:44:43 am by Mefix » Logged
Mohican
Order of the Stick
Former XR Dev
Legendary Member
*****
Posts: 2647



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2011, 09:26:20 am »

Hello Folks,

I have improved the plugin by adding a checkbox to append animation clips at the end of the existing timeline.

 Afro


* append.png (29.66 KB, 500x187 - viewed 426 times.)
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 04:09:53 pm by Mohican » Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.046 seconds with 19 queries.